Work Life Balance

My top career priority ever since I had a family has always been work-life balance. So I take every opportunity I have to take some time off from work. Late last year up until the end of January, I’ve been very busy at work preparing our team for a huge company-wide audit interview. I’ve been coming home late and promised myself that once this audit is complete I would go on leave. Which is precisely what I did.

Last week, my mom went on a week-long Singapore trip to visit my brother so I had to work from home since no one will babysit Yui. Despite the hectic schedule of attending meetings, cooking lunch and dinner, bathing Yui and putting her to sleep in the afternoons before going back to meetings, it was really fun and fulfilling! I took Thursday and Friday off to concentrate on looking after Yui and to have some QT (quality time) together. 😉

Because daddy bunny had to report to work, it was a two-day mother daughter bonding session. We started our Valentine’s Day by going to the mall as we needed to buy new formal shoes for Yui. When she was smaller, she hated getting new shoes since she insisted that she still has (those she was wearing) but now that she’s growing up to be a kikay girl, she enjoyed shopping already. Good luck to daddy! Haha!

Little fashionista trying on the pink and yellow shoes.

Little fashionista trying on the pink and yellow shoes.

Good thing she just tried those shoes on but didn’t insist on buying them. We got the formal shoes and that’s it. Yay for daddy!

We had to cut our mall tour short to attend her 1PM class and the birthday celebration of her classmate. It’s been a long time since I went with her to school and it was so much fun celebrating a birthday, catching up with other moms and watching the kids play and shriek to their delight!

Playtime at the Home Room

Playtime at the Home Room

Daddy bunny planned to take Friday off but had to attend a very important meeting that day so it was Yui and mommy once again. This time we spent a quick playtime at the Quezon City Memorial Circle. Within an hour, we were able to ride the go kart, some arcade rides and play at the fountain area. I’m really thankful that there’s a place we can bring Yui to play around – with very wide space, lots of trees, a huge playground and DIRTY ICE CREAM! 🙂

Go Kart: 15 minutes of fun

Go Kart: 15 minutes of fun

Little Driver

Little Driver

Simple Joys: Buko Shake and Dirty Ice Cream

Simple Joys: Buko Shake and Dirty Ice Cream

The nice sunset caps off my week perfectly. It was one of those times where you don’t have to spend a lot and go somewhere far to have fun. As long as I have an active and happy kid with me, I’m good. 🙂

Sunset at QC Circle

Sunset at QC Circle

Looking forward to my next time off!

 

 

Leave a Reply

