Frantic Feedback

The last month has been a pity. One blog post. Nothing else. Although my blog life was severely in drought, real life was something else.

Weekdays have been 16 average hours in the office and weekdays were quality time with the family. There are a lot of blog-worthy experiences and places I’d like to share in my blog but the farthest they reached was on my to-do list.

April is one of the busiest months at work as it is our performance feedback season. This year the deadlines were so tight so I had to make ends meet to finish the 28 feedback requests I received from my team. And this is on top of my normal work. I spent zombie nights working/sleeping/eating in the kitchen just to finish all those feedback. It was painful work but the importance of it pushed me to the finish line. Buzzer beater. But at least it’s done! 🙂

Now that it’s over and a new month is in, I’m back with a vengeance! This is my month. So I’m gonna make it count. 🙂

I’ll start with the life lessons I’ve learned from all those frantic feedback nights.

Life is good

Life is good. Leave your worries behind.

1. As you grow up/grow old, more and more people will come to depend on you. Their lives (or careers) will directly be impacted by us. It is a difficult duty but it is something we have to do and evaluate carefully. We should teach these people to be strong for themselves so they can stand on their own.

2. Life, and people, will disappoint us. At different points in time and with different people. We should just learn to be diplomatic about it, rise above them and move forward. If we brood on these, we’ll just have wrinkles. So why bother.

3. It is extremely important to have friends who will keep you sane in moments of panic, disappointment and annoyance. They will be the sponge you’ll badly need.

4. At the end of the day it is very important to know your priorities. No matter how frantic my work life was, I saved my weekends for my family. No work. All play. It’s my non-negotiable.

5. Lastly, don’t forget that for all our issues and life problems… This, too, shall pass. It’s okay to rant a little (or a lot!), but at the end of the day we should all SMILE then move on.

 

Now that I’m passed that, I’m looking forward to more summer outings, chats with friends and bonding time with my family! I’ll just worry about this again next April. 😛

Leave a Reply

