The Last (wo)Man Standing

“The only thing constant is CHANGE.”

I always believed in this saying and this helped me a lot in coping with life changes. For the coming months, I have yet to adapt to another change. Having been with the company for more than 9 years and having stayed in the same project for that period, I was able to build friendships and close relationships with my colleagues. I’m used to people leaving – either by resigning or by rolling off to a different project. But not with people close to me.

For the past several years, I’ve seen some of my friends leave this project, mostly leaving the company for good. Last year, one of my closest friends was rolled off. It was challenging at first, not just work-wise but also in sustaining our friendship. We had to fit in lunch or dinner into our differing schedules. It was difficult but we started to get used to it and move on with our lives.

I can’t believe  that I will have to again face another challenge when my longest and closest friend in this project announced her roll off. I know this is for her own growth and happiness, so I totally support her decision. But as I see the last of the “oldies” leave and I become the last man standing, I wonder… Until when am I going to hold on? 🙂

“No matter where we are in the world and who we are with right now.. we will still have the friendship and all our memories…”

2006: Leisure Farm

2006: Leisure Farm

2007ish: Zoobic Safari

2007ish: Zoobic Safari

2007ish: Everyone in this photo, except me, moved on...

2007ish: Everyone in this photo, except me, moved on…

Leave a Reply

