Of Dogs and Dragons

I’ve heard a lot of feedback from fellow dog officemates that 2012 is not a good year for us because dogs clash with the dragons. I’m not really a believer of feng shui but with all the things happening to me the past weeks, I’m amazed at how these predictions seem to fit. The start of the year has been such as rollercoaster ride for me and with too much stuff happening and emotional ups and downs, I can barely sit down and blog. Okay, that’s probably a sad excuse for my absence but I’ve got to blame my laziness on something, right? 2012 is just starting but I’ve experienced and learned so much in the past few days to probably get me through this lifetime.

Here are some of the things I’ve learned recently:

1. If you keep something inside you for so long, chances are you’re going to blow off pretty soon.

True, not just in your digestive system but also in relationships. If something bothers us and just keep mum about it, every small detail will annoy and disappoint us causing too much stress and an eventual emotional breakdown.

2. Misery loves company.

When everything was just going haywire, it seems that people around you are just having a lot of issues themselves. The good thing about this though is that by listening to other people’s experiences, you tend to put yours into perspective and see how important or miniscule your problem is. In the process, you not only help someone by being there for them, you also help yourself move on. As they say, happiness shared is happiness multiplied. Sadness shared is sadness divided.

3. Communication is key to every relationship.

As plants need water and sunshine to grow, relationships need communication and an open mind. No matter how tough it may be for any relationship, you’re sure to overcome every misunderstanding and issue with an open mind and an open discussion. If you are honest with your feelings and convey it in a respectful way, you are sure to get what you want out of the conversation. Be it all the hurtful details or an acceptable compromise to a situation, it will help you move forward. Open communication does not only mean a serious closed-door meeting with someone, it can also mean having a light talk on sensitive topics ensuring that you say what you feel and not jump into assumptions or conclusions.

4.  Life sucks. Shit happens. Move on.

That’s just the reality of it so instead of harboring ill feelings, we should just take life in stride and look into a bright future ahead. There are far too many pleasant things that is bound to happen in our life, so one pitfall doesn’t mean the end of us.

5. Two is better than one.

In the end, no matter how hard life can be or no matter how many stones they throw at you, life will be so much bearable if you have someone to get through it. Someone to laugh at all these shit while you grumble. Someone to prepare your meal while you wallow in pain. And just someone to hold your hand while you go through hell.

One of my favorite quotes from my mom is “Life is how you make it.” So no matter how awful my 2012 predictions are, I’m still looking forward to changing all that and making it awesome-r than 2011. I will make it happen. I will make it happy. I will make it successful. I just will. Watch me 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

